Adriaan Beukers
Steward Butterfield
Ben Cerveny
Elisabeth Diller
Michael Douglas
Maya Draisin
Brian Eno
David Garcia
Marti Guixe
Adam Hyde
Ivo Janssen
Nathalie Jeremijenko
Lee Eng Lock
Winy Maas
Malcolm McCullough
Irene McWilliam
Sugata Mitra
Andre Oorebeek
Chris Pacione
Garry van Patter
Fiona Raby
Hani Rashid

Rick Robinson
Alexander Rose
Tiffany Shlain
Bruce Sterling
Lisa Strausfeld
John Thackara
Tjebbe van Tijen
Michael Waisvisz
"Create the map, allow the experience" – this, say Webby Award organisers Maya Draishin and Tiffany Shlain, is the defining trend in Internet design today. "In our fourth year of awarding the Webbies, we noticed a trend that transfers the control of the site experience from the creators to the viewers. The creators create the map, the viewers create the experience," the duo explain. The question they pose at Doors 6: just how does this trend create a redistribution of 'weight' in design? Using all the experience gleaned from creating and running the Webby Awards, the "Oscars of the Internet," Shlain and Draishin investigate the Web as an active culture which self-creates and selects the rules of design on an evolving basis. Founded in 1996, the Webby Awards has gone from a so-called 'geekfest' to a huge media success; next year, it débuts on live TV. The awards rely on the deliberations of over 350 judges, this year including Laurie Anderson, Esther Dyson, Francis Ford Coppola, David Bowie, Robin Williams and Tina Brown. When not working on the Webbies, Shlain and Draishin are active in the new media industry as commentators, "envisioners and evangelizers" – for example, as founders of the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, which is dedicated to the creative, technical and professional progress of new media.